Sinlung /
30 October 2013

Mizoram Elction Update: Oct 30

EC instructs Mizoram election department for VVPAT system in 10 constituencies

Aizawl, Oct 30 : The Election Commission has instructed the Mizoram election department to use Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail System (VVPAT) system in 10 Assembly constituencies in the coming elections to the 40-member state legislature to be held on November 25.
The instruction was issued yesterday to introduce VVPAT with the electronic voting machines (EVMs) and would be used in 10 seats out of the 11 seats within Aizawl city, state Joint Chief Electoral Officer H Lalengmawia said here today.
"The constituencies where the VVPAT system would be introduced would be decided by the state election department," he said, adding that being a new equipment, the Election
Commission wanted the VVPAT with EVMs to be introduced in the urban area where it would be easier to be monitored.
Earlier, the opposition Mizo National Front (MNF) had expressed doubts about the reliability of the EVMs and suggested to the Election Commission that the EVMs might have been manipulated in the 2008 Assembly polls which resulted in the unprecedented victory for the Congress which bagged 32 seats.
The major opposition parties - the MNF, the Mizoram People's Conference (MPC), the Zoram Nationalist Party (ZNP) and the BJP state unit recently submitted a joint memorandum to the Election Commission seeking introduction of the VVPAT with EVMs.
The parties expressed the desire that the voters would be able to exercise franchise without having doubts and with transparency. 

Mizoram CM likely to contest from two seats

Aizawl, Oct 30 : Mizoram Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla is likely to contest the November 25 Assembly polls from Serchhip constituency from where he has won five times and also from Hrangturzo, Congress sources said.

Lal Thanhawla has successfully contested from Serchhip for five times since 1984.

He lost from the constituency only once in 1998.

Earlier he had won from Champhai seat in 1978 and 1979 assembly polls. But since 1987, the seat became the home turf of MNF chief Zoramthanga.


Post a Comment

Popular Posts

Latest Posts