Sinlung /
05 March 2013

Rio Begins Third Stint as Nagaland CM

Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio. File photo
Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio. File photo
Neiphiu Rio will be sworn in as the hief minister of Nagaland for the third consecutive term, on March 5 at the Raj Bhavan in Kohima, official sources said on Sunday.
Governor Nikhil Kumar will administer oath of office and secrecy to Mr. Rio, who was earlier elected as leader of the Democratic Alliance of Nagaland (DAN) legislature party.
The list of 11 Cabinet Ministers is likely to be submitted to the Governor by Monday, the sources said.
The Naga People’s Front (NPF)-led DAN having 40 elected members along with the support of seven Independents had staked claim to form the government on Saturday.
Mr. Rio is the only leader to have led the regional party to victory in the Assembly elections for the third time in the 50-year history of Nagaland.
Bypoll on March 23
Polls to the Tuensang Sadar-I Assembly constituency in Tuensang district of Nagaland will be held on March 23.
Election to the seat had to be countermanded due to the death of Congress candidate P. Chuba Chang a day before the state went to polls on February 23.
Filing of nominations will end on March 6, election office sources said, adding, the date of scrutiny of nomination of the INC sponsored candidate will be on March 7 and the last date of withdrawal on March 9.
Tuensang Deputy Commissioner-cum-District Returning Officer, T. Mhabemo Yanthan, in an official notification has reminded political parties that the Model Code of Conduct will continue to be in force within the jurisdiction of Tuensang Sadar-I Assembly seat till the process of election is completed.
Mr. Yanthan said the date of re-poll, if any, will be taken up on March 25 and counting of votes will be on March 26.
Other two candidates already in the fray are NPF’s L. Elam Chang and Poyang Changkong Chang (Independent).


Post a Comment