Sinlung /
25 January 2013

Manipur Has Over 17 Lakh Voters

Imphal, Jan 25 : Manipur chief electoral officer O Nabakishore Singh on Monday released the final photo electoral roll of the state for 2013 comprising a total of 17,47,889 voters across 60 assembly constituencies.

After several duplicate voters were deleted, the roll has now become almost error free, Singh said, adding that the department would continue to check for more duplicate voters that might still remain on the list.

Of the 17,47,889 electors, 8,61,416 are male while 8,86,473 are female. The percentage of total number of electors in the state is 62 per cent of the total population.

As compared to the 31,566 youths aged between 18 and 19 years who were enrolled in the electoral roll last year, 47,143 young people in the same category group were enrolled this year.

The Mao constituency in Senapati district has the highest number of voters at 55,501 while Tipaimukh constituency in Churachandpur district bordering Mizoram has the minimum number of voters at 17,038.


Post a Comment