Sinlung /
29 November 2012

HSA FC and Zeliangrong FC to meet in the final match

By Lalremlien Neitham

New Delhi, Nov 29
: In the semi-finals played today in the sixth edition of the NE Tamchon Football Trophy at Dr.Ambedkar Stadium, New Delhi, HSA FC (Hmar) ousted last year's champion Kangleicha Sanaroi Lup (KSL) in a penalty shoot-out while Zeliangrong FC also enters the final with a 1-0 win against TSFD FC (Tripura) .

In the first semi-finals match played between HSA FC and KSL, the HSA FC were given a penalty kick, scoring a goal on the 6th minute of the game.

KSL were also given a penalty kick evening the score.

Before the first half was over, both the teams scored two goals each.

In the second-half, HSA FC scored another goal which was soon evened by KSL with another goal.

As the match ends with a 3-3 draw, extra time of 30 minutes was played but both team failed to score any goals.

In the penalty shoot-out, HSA FC goalie saved a goal and HSA FC won the match by 8-6 .

In the second semi-finals, previous year's runner-up Zeliangrong FC played against TSFD FC (Tripura).

Zeliangrong FC scored a goal in the first-half of the match.

Zeliangrong FC dominates the match and with TSFD FC not scoring any goal, Zeliangrong FC won the match with a 1-0 win.

For the HSA FC, this is the third time that it enters the finals at the NE Tamchon Football Trophy.

It played finals against Zeliangrong FC in 2008 and again with DMZP FC in 2010.Zeliangrong FC lifted the trophy in 2008 and were runners-up in the previous year.

The final match between the HSA FC and Zeliangrong FC will be played at 5:30pm on December 1, 2012 at Dr.Ambedkar Stadium, New Delhi.

The tournament is supported by the Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports and the Ministry of DoNER.

It is also co-sponsored by ONGC, Oil India Limited and COSCO.

The champion will be awarded the North East Tamchon Football Trophy in addition to Rs.five lakhs cash prize, medals and certificates.

The trophy can be owned by any team who wins the trophy consecutively for three years.

No team has owned the trophy yet.

The first runners up will be awarded medals and certificates, with a cash prize of Rs.three lakhs.

And the second runners up will be awarded medals and certificates, with a cash prize of Rs.two lakhs.

Consolation prizes of Rs.25,000 each will be awarded to 5 teams who qualified for the quarter-finals.

Cash prize of Rs.5,000 each will be awarded to the best goal keeper, best striker, best mid-fielder, best defender, best coach and man of the tournament.

And Rs.20,000 will be award to the Best Team of the Tournament (Fair Play Award).

The closing ceremony of the tournament will be held from 4:00pm before the final match.

Salman Khurshid, Minister of External Affairs, Govt of India will grace the occasion as chief guest and HS Brahma, Election Commissioner, Govt of India as guest of honour.

Other special invitees and guests includes Members of Parliament from North Eastern States, Delhi Commissioner of Police Neeraj Kumar and President of Delhi Soccer Association Subhash Chopra, MLA.

Shillong Chamber Choir and various artistes from North East India will also be performing during the event's evening of music.

The tournament, organised in memory of late RN Tamchon (ACP, Delhi Police) by the Tangkhul Naga Society Delhi (TNSD) since 2007, aims to promote friendship, unity and interaction through games and sports among North Eastern people in Delhi.

* The sender of this news can be contacted at lalremlien(at)gmail(dot)com .


Post a Comment