Sinlung /
28 March 2012

Mizoram Forms Panel For Border Disputes With Assam, Tripura

Aizawl, Mar 28 : The Mizoram government has formed a five-member committee to resolve the boundary disputes with neighbouring Assam and Tripura, an official said Tuesday.

"The boundary committee headed by former minister C. Chawngkunga would study the long-running inter-state border line row and would make recommendations to the state government at the earliest," a senior land revenue and settlement department official told reporters.

According to the official, the state boundary committee was constituted last week after the central government has ignored the pleas of the state government to form a boundary commission for resolving the disputes.

The long unsettled Mizoram-Assam, Meghalaya-Assam and Arunachal Pradesh-Assam boundary disputes occasionally creates troubles between the villagers and officials of these states.

However, a senior Tripura government official, when contacted, told IANS that the state government is not aware of any boundary disputes with Mizoram.

Meghalaya was formed in January 1972 while Mizoram became a state in 1987. Tripura and Manipur were sovereign princely states, which became part of India.


Post a Comment